恶意软件风险

世界经济论坛的全球风险报告将网络攻击和恶意软件作为2016年的主要技术风险并可能导致大规模的经济损失和”网络信任的大范围丧失”。 信息技术行业数据报告33%的世界计算机受到某种恶意软件某种形式的感染,亚洲被列为受恶意软件感染的最高地区。 对此的一个评估结果表明:2016年第一季度,受感染率最高的前十个国家和地区中,亚洲占两个:中国排名第一,台湾排名第三。

你的计算机不仅是一个世界信息和游戏娱乐的窗口,如果你无意下载了RAT的’间谍软件’,它也可成为一个窥视你的家(甚至卧室)的窗口。 远程访问特洛伊木马病毒(RAT)可专为远程启用受骗者的网络摄像头和音频功能、浏览被害者的私人照片或视频以及下载和公开分享(或销售)他们选择的图像和视频而设计。 这些犯罪者的主要意图是嘲讽、玩弄和公开羞辱被害者——尽管这种邪恶的活动也可导致敲诈勒索。 这种严重违背隐私权的精确描述一定是感到惊恐。 意识到你的房屋、卧室、大部分的个人对话和私人时刻已被入侵并与陌生人分享,这个陌生人然后在论坛或社会媒体上与数以万计的其他陌生人分享,想象一下这种毁灭性的打击吧。

数码和离线世界加速汇合,人们的生活变得更以数码为重点,重要文件和数据并非以实体的形式储存,而是储存在计算机和设备和设备上。 非法访问此数据,然后使用加密作为武器,防止被害者访问此数据直到被害者’缴纳赎金’,这已成为一个暴利网络罪行。 去年,全球勒索软件特洛伊木马病毒的感染率增加了35%,今年预计会进一步增加。

网上广告是大买卖。 约90%的谷歌收入来自广告–他们的其他所有产品综合收入仅占其每年收益的10%。 网上广告也是兜售恶意软件犯罪集团的大买卖。 在伪造和内容盗窃网站上发现的恶意广告攻击对于经常寻找价格标签’好得令人难以置信’或免费的网上消费者带来严重风险。 上述的消费者可能的确最终’不劳而获’,…但是,某些东西通常不免费。

亚洲数码联盟(ADA)提倡一个安全访问的网络环境,让网络用户意识到这种网上风险对于行业和政府,从而允许缺乏经验的数码社区成员知情后作出明智决策,保护自己不受网络黑暗致命点伤害,承认这点至关重要。

thumbnail of ADA _RAT infestation – Your family privacy at risk_

 

thumbnail of ADA_Ransomware

Malware Risks

The World Economic Forum’s Global Risks Report lists cyber attacks and malware as a major technological risk of 2016, and likely to result in large-scale economic damage and “widespread loss of trust in the Internet”. IT industry data reports that 33% of the world’s computers are infected with some form of malware, with Asia ranking as the highest region for malware infections. A review of countries with the highest rate of infection in the first quarter of 2016, ranks two Asian countries in the top ten: China at #1 and Taiwan at #3.

Your computer is not only a window into a world of information and entertainment, it can also become a window into your home and even your bedroom should you inadvertently download RAT ‘spyware’. Remote Access Trojans (RAT) can be designed to remotely activate a victim’s webcam and audio functionality as well as browse through a victims private pictures or videos, and download and publicly share (or sell) the images and videos of their choosing. The primary intent of these perpetrators is to taunt, toy and publicly humiliate their victims – although this nefarious activity can also lead to extortion. Feeling terrorized must be an accurate description for this gross breach of privacy. Imagine the shattering realization that your house, your bedroom, your most personal conversations and private moments have been invaded and shared with a stranger who then shares with tens of thousands of other strangers on forums or social media.

With the digital and offline world converging at an accelerated rate and peoples lives becoming more digitally focused, important documents and data are being stored on computers and devices rather than in physical form. Illegally accessing this data and then using encryption as a weapon, preventing a victim from accessing this data until ‘ransom money’ is paid has become an extremely profitable cyber-crime. Last year global infections of the Ransomware Trojan increased by 35% and are expected to increase further this year.

Online advertising is big business. Approximately 90% of Google’s revenue comes from advertising – the combined earnings of all of their other products only accounts for 10% of its annual earnings. Online advertising is also big business for crime syndicates peddling malware. Malvertising found on counterfeit and content theft sites present serious risks to online consumers who are often in search of a price tag ‘too good to be true’ or something for free. Such consumers may indeed end up getting ‘something for nothing’…however that something often has a cost.

The Asia Digital Alliance (ADA), who advocate for a safe and accessible Internet environment, recognize that it is important for industry and government to make Internet users aware of such online risks and empower the less experienced members of the digital community to make informed decisions and be able to safeguard themselves from the dark underbelly of the Internet.

thumbnail of ADA _RAT infestation – Your family privacy at risk_

 

thumbnail of ADA_Ransomware